Cantonese Summer Program

Summer is now available for registration.

Pre-recorded Lessons & Weekly Live

This summer, instead of having fixed class times, we're going to offer pre-recorded classes, available to rewatch on demand, for Monday-Thursdays. For families who enjoy live classes, good news! Ms. Cherry and Ms. Eveline will be doing a live Art & Stories class every Friday.

Platform: Facebook & Zoom

Our program will be delivered on Facebook. Facebook account will be required for registration. The live session will be delivered on Zoom and also in Facebook.

Sessions: 3 Choices

We know that summer will be difficult to commit to a full 4-week program. So we are offering 3 choices:

1) Session 1 (2 weeks): $20 - June 14 - June 25

2) Session 2 (2 weeks): $20 - June 28 - July 9

3) Session 1 & 2 (4 weeks): $35 - June 14 - July 9

What's Included?

EACH session will include:

  • 8 pre-recorded lessons designed and delivered by certified teachers
  • LIVE zoom class with Ms. Cherry (Children's Cues) and Ms. Eveline (Rhythm 'N' Rhyme) on Fridays
  • a set of new vocabulary every day (traditional Chinese & jyutping)
  • printables and flashcards by Sweet Note Learning
  • traditional songs and nursery rhymes
  • game / activity

After Registration:

Once registered, we will invite you to our Facebook private group. The lessons will be available there.

For more details, feel free to contact us: evelineyu@rnrmusicclass.com

▲ Back to top

Ages 0-5: Cantonese Circle & Story Time

Class Duration: 30 minutes

Come sing with us and learn Cantonese over Zoom!

Each week we will cover:

  • a different theme
  • a new story
  • traditional Cantonese nursery songs and rhymes
  • games and activities in Cantonese

Class is suitable for ages 0-5. Adult must be present during class.

~~~~~~~
2021 Spring Semester (10 weeks = $130 Cdn):

Saturday: 8am PST / 11am EST (Karen) -- April 10 - June 19

Note: There will be no classes held during Victoria Day Weekend May 22, 2021

▲ Back to top

Ages 3-6: Cantonese Songs & Conversations (Small Group)

Class Duration: 45 minutes

In this class, we will sing songs, look at simple Chinese characters, and have conversations through activities.

Each week we will cover:

  • a different theme
  • writing traditional Chinese character
  • reading simple traditional Chinese character
  • singing traditional songs and nursery rhymes
  • games and conversations in Cantonese

~~~~~~~

2021 Spring Semester (10 weeks = $150 Cdn):

Tuesday: 11am PST / 2pm EST (Eveline & Karen) -- April 6 - June 8

Saturday: 10am PST / 1:00pm EST (Karen) -- April 10 - June 19

Note: There will be no classes held during Victoria Day Weekend May 22, 2021

▲ Back to top

Ages 5-8: Cantonese Songs & Stories & Art (Small Group)

Class Duration: 45 minutes

In this class, we will have fun singing songs, reading stories, and drawing - all in Cantonese.

Each week we will cover:

  • writing traditional Chinese characters
  • reading stories
  • playing games
  • singing songs
  • creating art together

~~~~~~~

2021 Spring Semester (10 Weeks = $150 Cdn):


Tuesday: 1pm PST / 4pm EST (Eveline) -- April 6 - June 8

Tuesday: 4pm PST / 7pm EST (Eveline) -- April 6 - June 8

Saturday: 10:00am PST / 1:00pm EST (Eveline) -- April 10 - June 19

Note: There will be no classes held during Victoria Day Weekend May 22, 2021

▲ Back to top

Ages 0-6: Roundabout Cantonese Music - 氹氹轉音樂圈

Class Duration: 30 minutes

What is Roundabout?

Roundabout Cantonese Music 氹氹轉音樂圈 is a new music curriculum that is developed by Dorothy (Locy Lee) and Eveline Yu.  Moving away from the traditional Cantonese nursery rhymes, we will explore using Cantonese in different genres of music.

In this program, our main focus is learning about music through Cantonese.  Each song is original - written with the child in mind.  We will choose lyrics and music that is easy to sing and fun to use in daily life.  We will challenge children with different rhythms and beats and different pitches to strengthen their tonal acquisition - after all, Cantonese is a tonal language!

We want families to have fun and take this opportunity to be silly with their little ones.  Come and join us in our new music program!
~~~~~~~
2021 Winter Semester (10 Weeks = $130 Cdn):
Sunday: 8:15am PST / 11:15am EST / 4:15pm BST (Eveline & Dorothy) --- April 18 - June 27 (FULL)

Sunday: 9:00am PST / 12:00pm EST / 5:00pm BST (Eveline & Dorothy) --- April 18 - June 27 (LIMITED SPACE)

Tuesday: 10am PST / 1pm EST / 6pm BST (Eveline) --- April 20 - June 29 (OPEN)


Note:

Our Reading Break will be May 30-June 5. There will be no classes on May 30 / June 1.

If you're in the UK, you can register here: https://www.locyleelearning.com/roundaboutcantonesemusic

If you're in Canada, you can register below.

▲ Back to top

Ages 0-6: Sing-Along in Mandarin

Every Wednesday 10am PST / 1pm EST


This is a free beginner class to Mandarin. We will be singing in both Mandarin (mainly) and English. We will learn some simple rhymes and traditional nursery songs.

This program is sponsored by The 519 Church Community Centre in Toronto, Canada. The Community Center has been very supportive of our programs from the very beginning and I love that it has offered this program to families for free.

Follow the link before to register for your program. Please make sure you locate the zoom links in your email (in case you have trouble logging into the Event Brite page).

No language background necessary - I will try my best to follow your lead (so make sure your video is turned ON).


Sign Up Here -> https://www.the519.org/programs/rhythm-and-rhyme

▲ Back to top

Ages 0-6: Sing-Along in Cantonese (Sign Up through the 519 Link)

Every Wednesday 10:45am PST / 1:45pm EST

This is a free beginner class to Cantonese. We will be singing nursery songs, new and old, in Cantonese, as well as learn some nursery rhymes. We will be using 100% Cantonese - full immersion for 30 minutes! You can do it!

This program is sponsored by The 519 Church Community Centre in Toronto, Canada. The Community Center has been very supportive of our programs from the very beginning and I love that it has offered this program to families for free.

Follow the link before to register for your program. Please make sure you locate the zoom links in your email (in case you have trouble logging into the Event Brite page).

It is okay if your little one runs away - as long as they are listening and being exposed to the language, I don't mind... but... I do require that the video is turned ON for the safety of other families in class.

Please Sign Up Through this LINK: https://www.the519.org/programs/rhythm-and-rhyme

▲ Back to top

What Do Our Classes Look Like?

We focus on PLAY! We want our parents, grandparents, and caregivers to have fun with their little ones while learning new songs to sing at home.

We start with our Hello Song and end with our Goodbye Song.

In class, you will:

  • meet & greet other families
  • practice our numbers, colours, and everyday vocabulary (food, transportation, daily routine...)
  • move with the music - dance, finger play, clapping to the beat
  • sing - the best age to build a foundation in music development is 0-5 years old!
  • explore percussion instruments - pick up an instrument and jam to the beat
  • have fun!

Classes are 30 minutes long (which is a long time for our little ones to stay focused). Don't worry if you don't know the words - we will provide you links to the songs and lyrics so you can access them when you get home.

If you have older ones at home, we are also offering classes suitable for ages 3-6 and 5-8. Feel free to ask about the courses!

Terms & Policies

Classes are 100% refundable up to 1 week before the start of the first class. Cancellations made within two weeks of the start of class will receive a 50% refund.

If you are unable to attend a class, you can substitute a friend to take your place. Please arrange with your instructor ahead of time.

FAQ

Can siblings attend?

Yes! In fact, siblings under 1 years old are free. Siblings are also welcome in the Online Cantonese Music Circle (ages 0-6).

Do you sell Chinese children's books? I can't find any around me.

Yes we do! All the stories in class are available for purchase. They are available at Little Kozzi Bookstore.
We also take book requests and will try our best to find them for you!